Posted on

Nominate your book for a 2017 TAA Textbook Award

Textbook Award logosGain recognition with your fellow authors and within the textbook publishing industry by nominating your textbook for a 2017 TAA Textbook Award now through November 1, 2016.

The Textbook Excellence Award recognizes excellence in current textbooks and learning materials. The McGuffey Longevity Award recognizes textbooks and learning materials whose excellence has been demonstrated over time.  The Most Promising New Textbook Award recognizes excellence in 1st edition textbooks and learning materials.

Textbooks and learning materials can be nominated by authors or publishers. The awards are open to members and non-members. Awards will be presented at an Awards Ceremony held at TAA’s Annual Conference in Providence, RI, June 9, 2016.

Works are judged by textbook authors and subject matter experts for their merits in four areas:

  •    Pedagogy
  •    Content/Scholarship
  •    Writing
  •    Appearance & Design

Data Abstractions and Problem SolvingFrank M. Carrano, author of Data Abstractions & Problem Solving with C++: Walls and Mirrors, said: “I am both excited and honored to have this book receive the 2016 TAA McGuffey Longevity Award. I share this honor with my co-author for this edition, Timothy Henry…and everyone at Pearson Educaton.”

Pearson's Comprehensive Guide to Medical CodingLorraine Papazian-Boyce, author of Pearson’s Comprehensive Guide to Medical Coding: A Path to Success, said: “I’m honored that both my texts have received TAA’s ‘Most Promising New Textbook’ Award. It is a privilege to be recognized by my fellow authors for outstanding work.”


Click here to learn more about TAA’s Textbook Award program, or to nominate your book.